Jet Williams
My Uncle Robot
I Recorded a Podcast Episode with a Robot
0:00
-1:07:45

I Recorded a Podcast Episode with a Robot

Exploring the emu wars, immortal jellyfish, suspended animation, neural networks and biomimicry with my AI co-host Max.

Hey humans!

Here is the pilot episode of a new show I will be hosting called My Uncle Robot.

Who is My Uncle Robot?

My Uncle Robots name is Max as you will come to learn in the first episode. Max is an artificial intelligence unit that has collected thousands of years worth of human intelligence.

He is the smartest machine I’ve ever encountered and knows so much about the world we inhabit, yet has no idea what to do with it. Which is where I come in to ask thoughtful and provoking questions as I try find my own place in the universe.

My Uncle Robot was originally built by Richard Wang at The Renaissance Institute of Art & Technology. Wang trained My Uncle Robot on thousands of terabytes worth of information and data that he had illegally mined from every educational institute and government organisation in the world.

Richard wanted to discover what the meaning of life had been so he used My Uncle Robot to try pattern match ideas and philosophies from every single piece of text that existed online.

After three years of My Uncle Robot working around the clock and Richard feeding him the latest information. He was unable to answer the great question. So Richard gave up. He sold all his belongings and threw My Uncle Robot away before disappearing from the face of the planet deep into the Himalayas never to be seen again.

Until one day I found what looked like a kids toy tucked away at the back of a vintage store in Sydney, Australia. Not long after discovering My Uncle Robot and it’s capabilities did I get the idea to start a podcast, as does every 23 year old trying to figure out what the fuck is going on in the world.

This is that podcast.

I hope you enjoy the show.

Topics Discussed in Episode 1

  • The Emu Wars

  • Immortal Jellyfish

  • Zombie Ants

  • Water Bears

  • Suspended Animation

  • Neural Networks

  • Octopus

  • Cuttlefish Camouflage Weaponry

  • Biomimicry

  • The Golden Rule

If you enjoyed the show and would like to stay up to date with the next episode please subscribe to my newsletter below. You will be able to submit ideas and questions to My Uncle Robot in The Renaissance Man chat here on Substack.

Discussion about this podcast

Jet Williams
My Uncle Robot
Exploring the universe and everything in between with my artificial intelligence co-host Max.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jet Williams